It looks really easy to reach our King Palm, which is about half way down the hill, but as we’ve found on a couple of previous attempts to reach it, looks can be deceptive. It is on a steep slope surrounded by dense foliage (mostly vines) that is taller than me in a lot of places.

On Sunday I decided that it had to be done and so I set out full of resolve. This time I took a circuitous route, via the fence bordering Leo’s property, as I’d already explored a good portion of this area. After pausing to take a couple of pictures from under the big mango tree I carried on. To avoid the worst of the slope I went down past the palm and then angled back up towards it. Fortunately it is large enough to be visible even when I was completely covered (literally!) in vines. I almost gave up a couple of times, but finally I made it…