In Puerto Rico, there is no ‘main line’ gas.  When we moved over here back in August, we ordered a 100lb cylinder of propane to power our stove.  We were told that, under normal use, it should last 4-6 months.  When I asked the delivery guy how I would know when we were running out, he helpfully informed me that I would know that we were out of gas when the stove stopped working.  Oooookay.  Now, almost 7 months into this cylinder, I am starting to get a wee bit anxious. 

There are supposedly indirect methods of figuring how much gas is left in the canister.  Temperature is one of them:  Propane is cooler than air so one should be able to feel a difference in the top of the canister if there is still propane present (but it all feels equally warm to me), weight is the other (but I don’t fancy trying to maneuver the canister onto our scale).  So, we live in anxious propane oblivion.  We have been told by experienced others that the gas would run out at the most inopportune time.  We thought this time would most definitely come while Mo was cooking one of his gourmet meals last week (and he was duly warned:  what an unfair pressure to put on our guest chef!).  But no, the seemingly empty canister keeps going and going.

I still live in hope that somewhere out there there is a reliable gauge I can affix to our canister to remove the uncertainty surrounding our supply.  But that would take all the fun out of it, now wouldn’t it???

imgp2281.jpg