I am still trying to run down our propane tank. There have been sooooo many inopportune times for it to quit on us (Raquel and Mo’s visit, dinner party for friends) but NO! Like the energizer bunny it keeps going and going…

I am determined to continue to tax the tank until it finally gives out and we can order a new one. To that end, I’m baking a lot these days.  Yesterday I decided to make muffins.  I had some zucchini in the fridge so I decided to try the recipe for zuchinni muffins from one of my favorite cooking blogs (Coconut & Lime). 

I changed the recipe a bit, substituting one of the cups of flour for wholewheat, reducing the sugar amount by 1/4 of a cup and substituting the teaspoon of cinnamon for a tsp of a spice mixture my mom sent me (cinnamon, ginger, lemon peel, nutmeg, cloves, cardamom and Chinese 5 spice).  Turns out the latter substitution was a very good move on my part, as I discovered to my surprise that Nick has very strong feelings about cinnamon in large quantities.  Direct quote from the man:  “In most foods it should NOT be there”.  Well alrighty then.

The propane tank is still going strong but we had some nice muffins with tea for an afternoon snack.  Nick’s verdict:  “It tastes healthy”.  I’ll give him that, but regardless we both thought the muffins tasted good.  They also worked well as breakfast with our coffee/tea this morning. 

Later that afternoon our neighbor Julie showed up with a lovely home-baked cake, “just because”.  To Nick’s delight, Julie’s cake was not designed to get him to eat his “5 a day”…  We are suddenly overwhelmed by baked goods.  Which would you choose?

Muffins!

Zuchinni Muffins

 

Cake!

Julie’s Pretty and Muy Sabroso Cake