Yesterday during dinner, Nick suddenly announced “Oh Miri!  There is a visitor in the plant”.  As the plant in question is the Dracaena fragrans ‘Massangeana’ that lives in our living room, my first instinct was to grab my vinegar spray (my “cure” for all things that crawl).  Nick quickly clarified that the visitor was not a pest but a mushroom!

I’ve been growing house plants for longer than I care to commit to print but I’ve never grown mushrooms, and definitely not in a house plant. However, quick internet research revealed that this phenomenon is quite common in warmer and more humid climates. In fact, the fungi at hand featured as Dr. Tom Volk’s fungus of the month in Feb 2002.

Please do not expect updates on the lovely Leucocoprinus birnbaumii (aka the yellow houseplant mushroom). We decided not to wait for it to spread its spores and bid it a hasty “adios”. Sorry Dr. Tom!

Mushiroom!

Uninvited Visitor: Leucocoprinus birnbaumii in our Dracaena