Plátanos play a very important role in Puerto Rican cuisine.  From mofongo (fried green plantains, seasoned then mashed) to tostones (twice fried plantains), cooking plantins always involves a good amount of oil. 

One treatment of plantains I adore is amarillos.  When one of our plantains, heavily laden with fruit, succumbed to a serious afternoon downpour, I was determined to try my hand at making these delicious morsels at home.  As is typical, I hung the massive branch of fruit on a hook downstairs, and waited.  Yesterday, one of the plantains reached appropriate blackness so I pulled out the oil (as my maternal grandmother used to say, “the body needs a little oil”)… 

Though not deep-fried (as I believe is “tipico” practice), my amarillos turned out delicious. The key to a good amarillo is letting the plantain get as spotted with black as possible. Starchier “all yellow” plantains make for a denser amarillo and are not as yummy. To round out dinner, I went as healthy as possible, with some grilled chicken breasts (sprinkled with salt, pepper and a bit of curry powder pre-grilling), some sauteed broccoli and a home-made mango sauce (but of course!):

Miri’s Quick and Tasy Mango Sauce:
1 TBS Olive Oil
Large clove of garlic, minced
Small piece of gresh ginger, minced
3 mangoes
1 TBS malt vinegar (I used “fancy” salad vinegar)
1 TBS Mirin (Chinese rice cooking wine)
1/2 tsp Medium Madras Curry Powder

Saute garlic in oil until lightly colored, add ginger, then mangoes. Saute for a few minutes until mango is warmed through. Add Mirin and vinegar and seasonings. Remove from heat. Serve over grilled chicken or fish.