Petchie recently started a “Wednesday recipe” theme which I thought would be fun to join. I was looking for something quick (i.e., easy) and hearty to make for dinner tonight. I came across a recipe for Spaghetti al tonno piccanti on chowhound (which seems to now be called Chow…hmmm, I completely missed that transition!).

Spaghetti al tonno piccanti

200 grams of spaghetti

A small can of tuna (packed in olive oil is best)

1 clove of garlic (not sliced, just squished with the back of the knife)

1/2 of a small/med sized onion (chopped)

Cayenne pepper

1 can of diced plum tomatoes, without basil and other herbs

1 tbs Olive Oil (less if you use tuna packed in oil)

Drain the tuna of water or oil. If it is packed it water, mash it up in a bowl with a teaspoon of olive oil.

In a sauce pan, sautee the garlic in olive oil on low heat until it is golden, but not burnt.  Add the chopped onion and sautee until transparent. Add the mashed up tuna and sautee for a couple of minutes.

Add the can of tomatoes and mix it all up and cook on medium heat until it boils and then on low heat until the tomatoes are cooked. Mix in the cayenne pepper to taste.

Cook pasta in salted boiling water.  When al dente, mix into sauce.  Serve.

I pretty much followed the recipe except for the following modifications:

  • I used 2 cups of pasta trumpets instead of spaghetti
  • I added capers as per a suggestion on the site
  • I added fresh basil (from the garden) and sprinkled with Parmesan
  •  

    Nick had seconds, which is his sign of approval.  I concur:  a nice, light dish I will definitely make again.  Now if I could only figure out how to photograph pasta dishes in an appetizing way…