As previously noted, we have lots of bananas. The problem with having a full banana stalk is that most bananas ripen at the same time! We like to eat bananas but 50 odd bananas is a tad too many to deal with… Very ripe bananas are perfect for banana bread or muffins and also freeze very well. I’ve been peeling my ripe bananas and freezing them in bags of 4-5 for future muffin baking.  We should be set for a full year of muffins…

To make my muffins, I’ve been using a recipe for banana bread from Elise at “Simply Recipes“.

Easy Banana Muffins

Ingredients

  • 4-5 small ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (as suggested, I reduce to slighly under 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour (I add some wheat germ and wheat bran into my measuring cup before measuring out the flour — about 1/4 of a cup in total)

Method

Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). Mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a muffin tin. Bake until nicely browned and toothpick comes out dry (check after 20 minutes). Cool muffins on a rack.

The muffins freeze very well too.  Good thing we bought that deep-freezer… 🙂