Here is my second glaze firing report.  I did try hard to keep this shorter than my report for Glaze Testing 1.0 (really, I did!) so please do let me know if you want me to expand on anything…   Again, photos await at the end, so feel free to skip the glaze talk if it bores you to tears.

My goals for this time around were:

  1. Test glazes that performed very well during the first testing on larger pots (more surface area)
  2. More testing on glazes we liked but were not ready to “commit” to
  3. Continue the quest to find a green glaze we like
  4. Expand the range of glazes:  test 2 versions of a raspberry glaze and a purple
  5. Identify cool glaze layering effects and narrow down studio glazes by eliminating “redundant” glazes
  6. Continue testing and comparing my two clay bodies for glaze fit

To that end, I mixed up batches of the following glazes from “Mastering Cone 6 Glazes” by John Hesselberth and Ron Roy (see book for recipes):

  • Raw Sienna (4000 grams)
  • Bright Sky Blue (1000 grams)
  • Variegated Blue (1000 grams)
  • Licorice Black (4000 grams)
  • Glossy Base Glaze 2 + 2% copper carbonate (500 grams)
  • Variegated Brown/Blue – Glossy Base Glaze 2 + 6% RIO + 4% Rutile (200 grams)
  • Caribbean Blue – High Calcium Semimatte Base 2 + 0.5% copper carbonate, +0.5% cobalt carbonate (1000 grams)
  • Raspberry Red (200 grams)

I also mixed up the following glazes:

  • Jeannie’s Raspberry/Cranberry:  This is a version of the MC6 Raspberry I found on Mary Starosta’s blog.  As it uses much less tin oxide (an expensive ingredient), I figured I’d give it a try.
  • Jeannie’s Purple (200 grams)
  • Revised Revised Xavier’s Jade Green (500 grams):  I revised this recipe to adjust for using G-200HP instead of Custer Feldspar (reduced Silica to 21% and increased EPK to 20%).

Having large batches of glazes meant that I could glaze much larger pieces, which I did.  My first round of testing suggested that Raw Sienna and Licorice Black would work well with each other, as well most of the other glazes, so I tried most possible combinations and overlaps.

Before the pictures, a few observations regarding the specific glazes:

General observations:

  1. I saw no noticable differences between the Axner Maccabbe and Standard 240 as far as how the glazes presented.
  2. I’m still working on glaze consistency.  The first time around, my glazes were a bit too thick.  This time, I erred on the side of thin.  This did allow me to double dip pieces, which, in some cases, demonstrated the impressive range of the glaze, depending on glaze thickness (e.g., Raw Siennna).

Specific Glazes:

Raw Sienna:

Nick’s new favorite glaze!  :-)  This glaze has so much depth and character, its a true winner.  Where I applied it thin, it went quite matte, showed application variation and almost looked wood fired (if you know what I mean).  It is very dynamic and works very well for me with a lot of the glazes.  It is an excellent glaze for layering.

Licorice Black:

Lovely.  Very difficult to photograph as it is amazingly reflective.  :-) Like Raw Sienna, a great stand-alone glaze but also works very well with others.  Does magical stuff when layered with other glazes.

Raspberry Red vs. Jeannie’s Raspberry:

On my clay bodies (Standard 240 and Axner’s Macabbe), the lower Tin Oxide version of Raspberry turned out very anemic (almost brown).  The original Raspberry was vibrant and lively.

Jeannie’s Purple:

Beautiful!  A great semi-glossy true purple which layers very nicely with Licorice Black (important, as black and purple are my two favorite colors!).  Jeannie’s Purple over Licorice Black goes a very deep dark variegated bluish-purple.  Very nice.

Variegated Brown-Blue:

I applied this glaze a lot thinner this time.  Where the glaze was double dipped or pooled (e.g., in textured pieces) there was a lot of nice variegation.  Where thin, the glaze was a pleasant reddish-brown.  This glaze worked well on its own as well as with Caribbean Blue, Raw Sienna and yes, Licorice Black.  In fact, this glaze over Licorice Black looks very similar to Variegated Blue over Licorice Black.  As we both are not overly excited by Variegated Blue (on its own, it looks more greenish than blue on my clay bodies), we might scratch VB in favor of this one.

Revised Revised Xavier’s Warm Jade Green:

Lovely glaze.  Great variegation and nice color variation.  Goes darker and more variegated where thick, which works well for my purposes.  At the risk of sounding like a broken record, it is lovely over Licorice black (overlap goes a cool variegated blue) and also Raw Sienna.  We’ll be mixing up a larger quantaty of this one to try on my leaf plates.

And now for some pictures (all on Standard 240 unless otherwise mentioned):

tilesJRRR

Raspberry red and Jeannie’s Red (double dip on top)

tilesJPWJG

Revised Revised Xavier’s Warm Jade Green and Jeannie’s Purple (looks more purple than ink black in real life)

Pendants

Back row:  Single Dip Jeannie’s Purple (left), Double dip Jeannie’s Purple (right)

Front row:  Jeannie’s Raspberry, Raspberry Red & Revised Revised Xavier’s Warm Jade Green (all double dipped)

GBG2greens

Glossy Base Glaze 2 + 1%, 2% and 3% Copper Carbonate (Double dip top)

RRWJG

Close up:  Revised Revised Xavier’s Warm Jade Green

RSespressoset

Raw Sienna (thicker application on cups)


JPLBbowl2

Jeannie’s Purple with Licorice Black (overlap @1/3 + drizzle JP over LB)

RSoVB

Raw Sienna (thin application) over Variegated Blue (in shapes)

VBBoCB

Variegated Brown Blue and Caribbean Blue (overlap in middle)

LBwVBBSBbowl3

Variegated Blue and Bright Sky Blue poured over Licorice Black

VBBoRScup

Raw Sienna with Variegated Brown Blue over lip

VBBoLBcup

Licorice Black (thin application) with Variegated Brown Blue on lip

VBBoRSplate

Variegated Brown-Blue and Raw Sienna (overlap in middle)

And for those of you who missed the sneak preview:

Variegated Brown Blue and Black Licorice (overlap where blue)

Revised Revised Xavier’s Warm Jade Green and Licorice Black (overlap where blue)


RSLBVBbowls2

Raw Sienna and Licorice Black, Variegated Blue poured down the middle


That’s all for now and do let me know what you think!