Its been a busy and fun week in the studio. After a longish break from wet clay, it was nice to get back into the studio to do some (ok, lots of) throwing. I’ve found that now that I’m working with clay on a much more frequent basis (this is the first time since I started working with clay that I have my own studio), I know what the clay should feel like for different types of throwing. So, I spend some time in advance making sure my clay is as soft as I need it to be (I like my clay to be quite soft when throwing big).

Preparation does pay off: I threw lots of low bowls and mugs but my favorites from this week work are these large bowls. The one on the right is well over 12″ in diameter (so bigger than my studio ruler). I guess its time to get a tape measure for the studio! 🙂

largebowls