The reference is probably lost on most of our readership (if its not lost on YOU, I’ll be mighty impressed!) but if you’re curious, you’ll find the source at the end of this post.

Yesterday I sat down with my large lumps of clay (large for me is 3-3.5lbs). I got the Axner Maccabee to a beautiful consistency (SUPER SOFT!) and the throwing was lovely. After 4 bowls that are a usual shape for me (and one I plan to keep making) I decided to experiment a tad.

I’ve been thinking about my large bowls and what I can do in the throwing and trimming stage for some high impact glazing. Now that I’m getting to know my glazes a bit better, I am trying to throw or design work that has features that will highlight certain glazes. For the bowls in question, I was thinking about highlighting some of my jewel-colored glazes (Raspberry, Purple, Caribbean Blue) while taking advantage of Raw Sienna’s amazing range and depth.

I threw some fairly thin large, low bowls with an exaggerated indentation in the center. While still on the bat (but with the clay dried to almost trimming stage) I returned the bowls to the wheel and used some carving tools to create some concentric circles. The plan is to glaze the indentations with one of the jewel glazes, then wax-resist that area and glaze the whole bowl in raw sienna (which should break nicely on all the lines, which vary in width and depth). Well, that’s the plan. Still need to trim, bisque, glaze and then fire these babies. As the saying goes: Don’t count your pots before they come out of the glaze kiln… Hey, ever so more reason to enjoy the process, no? 🙂

 

New Shape next to Old Shape:

oldshapenewshape

 

Bowl A, top view:

linesandlinesa

Bowl A, side view:

linesandlinesaside

Bowl B, top view:

linesandlinesb

Bowl B, side View:

linesandlinesbside

 

And if you’re still curious about “lines and lines”, well here you go: