Yesterday, I loaded my kiln a day ahead of schedule (I had allowed two days for glazing but only needed one), and it is now done firing and cooling down.  This means that we’ll be opening the kiln tomorrow morning, which is, suitably enough, Discovery Day (Día del Descubrimiento de Puerto Rico) here in Puerto Rico.  

On November 19th,  Christopher Columbus (Don Cristóbal Colón) landed on the northwest coast of Puerto Rico near Aguada on his second voyage to the New World in 1493.  Exactly WHERE he landed is a source of great contention, with several local municipalities vying for the honor.

More Puerto Rico history for those interested is available here.  But for now, did you know that Columbus named the island San Juan Bautista in honor of Saint John the Baptist?  An inlet on the northern coast (present day San Juan) was  named Puerto Rico (Rich Port).   During the 1520s, the island took the name of Puerto Rico while the port became San Juan.

I imagine I will not be discovering a new world when I open my kiln tomorrow but hopefully, there will be some gems to report. 🙂

Tres Hermanos Beach near Rio Grande de Añasco: The River was used by Christopher Columbus to replenish his fresh water reserves. We just stick to the beach…