It is the day before Thanksgiving here in the US and my blog buddy Gary has a thought provoking post about the holiday, its history and significance.  As I was pulling 12 handles down in the studio (yes, more mugs a’coming), I pondered Gary’s words and thought about what the holiday means to me.

Since I returned to the USA about 20 years ago, Thanksgiving has always been very important to me.  I appreciated its non-religious essence (as a non-Christian, the Christmas season can be a bit much!) and its emphasis on family and togetherness.  It is a holiday that everyone can celebrate and appreciate (even if, as Gary points out, its origin is a bit suspect).

This year, Nick and I have much to be thankful for.  So many people (including complete strangers) have gone out of their way to help us in our various endeavors this year and for that we are both very grateful.  One thing I’m especially thankful for this year is the community of pottery bloggers I discovered.  Working alone in a studio can be a bit isolating and its been amazing to be able to learn from many brilliant professionals who generously share their knowledge of our craft (and other important life lessons!) with complete strangers! You guys inspire me daily and for that I am very thankful!

I’d also like to take this opportunity to give a special thanks to those of you who have chosen to actively participate in our blog by regularly commenting on our posts. You know who you are and you are awesome! 🙂  I find it a lot easier to blog when I know I have an audience. So thanks for chiming in. Your support, feedback and thoughts really mean a lot to us!

Wishing you and yours a very Happy Thanksgiving!