Today we spent a happy number of hours at our favorite beach playing smash ball, swimming and just lazing around in the sun. While we were doing the latter, we noticed a man show up on a bike with a bunch of empty gallon bottles and a machete. He attached a long hook to an even longer bamboo pole and proceeded to “pluck” coconuts from the row of trees behind us. He then expertly sliced them open with his machete and funneled the coconut water into his bottles.

A particularly “fruitful” pluck resulted in a large number of coconuts landing in the sand with an impressive “thud”. This earned him a round of applause (from me) which he clearly appreciated, as a minute later I was presented with an opened coconut brimming with coconut water for our consumption.

Chilled freshly opened coconut water (or “Coco Frio”) is commonly sold on the sides of the road here. I tried it once and was not overly impressed by its fairly bland flavor. However, a gift is a gift, and I proceeded to graciously sip the water (and there was A LOT of it). This time around, however, I was impressed but how refreshing I found the water (still not crazy about the flavor) and I kept drinking even after the coconut man left with his loot.

When we got home, I decided to read more about coconut water and was amazed by the health benefits of regularly drinking coconut water, which include:

  • Naturally Boost Immune System
  • Improves Intestinal Health
  • Increases Metabolism & Weight Loss
  • Balances Body PH
  • Detoxify & Fight Viruses
  • Stops Fatigue
  • Prevents Hypertension
  • Controls Diabetes
  • Aids in Circulation
  • Reduces Cancer Risk
  • Treats Kidney Stones
  • Eases Stomach Pain & Vomiting
  • Alls I can say is, once our rapidly growing “forest” of coconut trees down at the bottom of our hill start fruiting, I plan on bottling this magic water too!