A while back I introduced you to the funniest fruit I know. As the only thing funnier than one Rambutan is a whole tree full of ’em, I decided to once again try to plant some seeds. I say once again because I tried a while back to germinate some Rambutan, with no success.

This time around, I soaked and then planted 6 seeds. I watered them daily and kept them in a nice sunny spot. Sound alright no? Well, the other day I noticed a slight depression in the middle of one of the pots. Further investigation revealed (you guessed it!) no seed! Hmmm…. The next day brought another empty pot. Ok. Now I was getting concerned. I moved the little pots under a bunch of other plants in pots, to hamper easy ingress. The seed thief most have chuckled at my lame attempts at securing the funny seeds…another day brought another seed gone.

Four empty pots…

Now I was down to only 2 precious funny seeds. Desperate measures were clearly called for. I pulled out some weed block material and created protection domes. So far, so good. The defenses have not been breached and hopefully the seeds are getting enough sun to do their thing. Once thing is for sure, their chance of germinating under weed block is definitely higher than had they been eaten by the nasty seed thief…