With 18 mugs going into my next bisque kilns, I definitely have mugs on my mind… For many potters mugs are the “bread and butter” of their business. Indeed, at Rincón Pottery, I have a hard time keeping my ‘Mas Cafe” mugs on the shelves.

Mugs are also an item potters love to hate. A small, functional item, they are fairly time consuming to make, and involve multiple steps for completion. And, given their very functional nature, they are NOT an item one can price very highly. You can purchase a mug at Walmart for $4.99 or less. A hand made mug will cost you quite a bit more but perhaps not as much as one would (or should) expect given all that goes into making that one of a kind piece of functional art.

I don’t imagine that many of you lie awake at night thinking about what goes into the making of a mug (unless you happen to be a potter, of course!). But, if you did wonder, here is my process, from start to finish. So grab a cup of coffee or tea (in a hand-made mug please!) and have a look: