We’re back in PR after a lovely (if FREEZING and rainy) week-long break to celebrate Passover with my family. More on that later. We returned to a studio overfloweth with bone-dry greenware. This can only mean one thing: Time for a bisque firing (number 10, for those who are keeping track).

I loaded up the kiln (much easier now that I have my numerous new 1/2 and 1 inch posts) and was about to flick on the shut-off switch for the kiln when I recalled that Nick switched off the kiln fuse at the main board prior to our trip as a safety precaution. I wandered up to the board, flicked the fuse back to ‘on’ and went back to the kiln room to go about my business. You can see where this is going, no? I flicked the shut-off switch to on and then flicked on the kiln’s switch.  Nada. Drat!

Nick and I had a quick consultation. Our first instinct was that we would need to call in an electrician to check out all the connections. However, we both suspected that switching off the fuse on the board was at the root of the problem and therein also lies the solution. So, a new fuse might be alls that’s needed. Of course, who has an extra double 50amp fuse just sitting around? Well, we don’t! And, given that this is Holy Week here in PR, finding an open hardware store seemed unlikely. So, to test this theory (and figure out if a call to the electrician was in fact needed), Nick swapped one of our 30amp fuses in place of the kiln’s 50amp one. As this was just a diagnostic (we would only switch on the kiln’s computer controller), this seemed like a good plan. And it was! The kiln switched on. I have never been SO happy to see those red letters spelling out “WAIT”.

Fortunately, I’m not working against any deadlines, so the loaded kiln will just wait until Monday, when I will get a new fuse. In the future, we’re just going to trust our hefty shut-off switch and leave the little fuse switches in the board alone… Live and learn! 🙂

Bisque in kiln room pre-loading.