Hurricane Earl is about 189 miles away from us, hopefully continuing its West Northwest path up and away.  Nick and I are safe and sound in the house, all loose objects are contained, we have plenty of supplies including extra gas for the generator and a chilled bottle of Don Q Coco!

Apparently, the east coast of Puerto Rico is getting battered.  I read that our governor is cited as saying that the cutoff point for the hurricane strength winds is  Arecibo on the north coast (which is about 47 miles north east of us) and Ponce in the south.  Glad to hear it!  Here on the western coast of the island,  the wind gusts come and go in waves, as does the rain.  Honestly, so far this storm doesn’t seem much different from a heavy rainy season storm.  The jitters are there though, as I KNOW its resulting from bands of an approaching Cat 3 Hurricane…

Our power went out about an 1 1/2 hours ago when the rains started, just as I was in the midst of photographing pots and tests  from my latest glaze firing.   I’m very pleased with how my chess set turned out and can’t wait to challenge Nick to a game.  This photo of the set will have to do for now.  I’m sure you’ll forgive me!

Chess Set (Licorice Black and Raw Sienna). Chess board handmade by Lee Chesson